The historic village of Alquézar, originally Moorish, is perched 660 meters high in the limestone of the Sierra de Guara mountain massif, running parallel to the Pyrenees mountain range in the province of Huesca (Aragon).

Poblet Monastery

The Royal Monastery of Santa Maria de Poblet was founded in the second half of the 12th century by Cistercian monks from France. It was the first of three sister monasteries, known as the Cistercian triangle. The others are Vallbona de les Monges and Santes Creus. In 1991, the monastery was declared a world heritage site by UNESCO.